Escapism – Gallery 3919 – San Diego

Immediately after escaping The Attic, I wanted to try Escapism’s other room. It was unbooked, and the helpful employee let me book it right away. Well, I didn’t make it out and I found the second room much more confusing. I don’t think the puzzles matched up with my problem-solving brain. It is probably more fun with a bigger group. I would not call it difficult, but you may need multiple brains to poke at the puzzles from different angles. See below for the full review.

Escapism
Escape Gallery 3919
July 2016
Number of Escaperoomers: 1! Solo Escape.
Number of Randos: 0
Overall Time: 5 minutes over?

Hints Taken: 5 plus.

“You’ve received a mysterious invitation to a private viewing at one of the most prestigious art galleries in the city. Will you choose to go?”

Well. That’s a hell of an invitation. Of course I’ll go! Unfortunately, I had a couple problems with the gallery. However, if you have 4 or more people, it may not be an issue. For a solo-escape attempt, it was just not for me.

I really enjoyed the Attic. On the other hand, the ‘gallery’ was not as interesting or entertaining. The puzzles seemed a little all over the place. The hint system was pretty bad. You have to wave your hands to the camera, and someone will open the door and they give you a hint.

There were a few issues…there was a designation prop/card that it is not necessary to solving anything, and creates some confusion. I later found out it is used for larger groups to avoid some level of chaos. However, for smaller groups, it should be removed. Another issue had to do with a weight that I thought was supposed to be used somehow. It was not, so I thought it should be secured where it was instead of having it be removable. Another item I had to use was on a prop that was labelled not to be touched, which I felt was misleading.

I liked the Attic but found the Gallery frustrating. Thumbs up to Escapism for allowing me to book the room solo. Parking can be a challenge in this part of town. You’ll probably have to pay to park, so make sure you get there early. The staff member I dealt with was awesome. Helpful and really seemed interested in making sure I had a good experience. If they open up another room, I’ll definitely give it a try.

Escapism

3919 4th ave Suite A, San Diego CA 92103
(619) 866-2670
Tangerine@escapismsd.com
http://www.escapismsd.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Escapismsd/

$30/per person. Book the slot. May get combined with others.
Open 7 days a week. Check their website for times and dates. Check for discounts and say I sent you!

Have you escaped from The Gallery?

Leave a Reply

