Decor, Theme, and Story

Theme and Story are separate, but equally important concepts for escape rooms.

Escape Rooms in Toronto

I’d like to take this opportunity to talk about the difference between themeing, decor, and story/narrative. All three are not mutually exclusive, but are definitely distinctly different from one another. I just wanted to clarify the difference before my next review. I don’t think any one category will make or break a game, although I appreciate efforts to any of the three.

Decor is window dressing. It’s how a room looks. Some places try to make the room look closer to what the theme would dictate, while others might cheap out and put dollar-store props. I prefer the former, of course, but I don’t particularly hate the cheap props. It just so happens that places that haven’t put in much money into their decor also don’t really put much thought into the design of their games.
To me, themeing refers to the marriage of puzzles to a room’s theme/environment. If…

View original post 144 more words

Leave a Reply

